Serving the Admiral District since 1910

In 1908, Andrew Carnegie donated $105,000 for three branch libraries in Seattle; one of them was in West Seattle. That same year, the Niesz family and other West Seattle residents donated land for the branch at its current location, 42nd Avenue Southwest and Southwest College Street. The branch opened July 23, 1910. It was the first permanent library branch to open in Seattle.
In 1984, Seattle voters approved a bond issue, in part to improve the Library's seven historic Carnegie-era branches. The West Seattle Branch was closed for renovations between February and October 1987.


An exceptional Carnegie Library design

Exterior view of the West Seattle Branch
Exterior view of the West Seattle Branch

The renovated West Seattle Branch is the seventh project completed under the 1998 voter-approved Libraries for All building program.
The renovation was designed by Snyder Hartung Kane Strauss Architects and built by W.G. Clark Construction Co.


Rotating artwork by Dennis Evans

Artwork by Dennis Evans at the West Seattle Branch
Artwork by Dennis Evans at the West Seattle Branch

Seattle artist Dennis Evans created artwork for five of the Library's Carnegie branches. It is a series of painted, mixed-media works titled "The Seven Liberal Arts," which denote the seven branches of knowledge. All the pieces reflect classical liberal arts themes. Each branch has a permanent reference painting, and a painting designed to circulate among the other Carnegie branches. The unique work at the West Seattle Branch represents "Logic."

Named Spaces

Spaces named for donors include:

The Stim Bullitt Reading Area and Anne and Langdon Simons Children's Area.