• The Vanishing

    The Vanishing

    Krentz, Jayne Ann

    "Decades ago, the Incident occurred: an explosion in the Fogg Lake cave system that released unknown gases. Afterward, some of the residents started having visions, while others heard voices--and the eerie effects also showed up in their descendants. Catalina Lark and Olivia LeClair, co-owners of a Seattle investigation firm, use their "second sight" to solve cases. When Olivia vanishes one night, Cat frantically searches for her friend. Then Slater Arganbright, an agent from a shadowy organization, shows up with a cryptic warning. A killer is hunting Catalina and Olivia, who are the only witnesses to a fifteen-year-old murder. Someone intends to make both women vanish."--Back cover.

    Format: Large Print - 2020

    Holds: 3 on 4 copies

    View this item
  • The Wives

    The Wives

    Fisher, Tarryn

    Imagine that your husband has two other wives. None of you know each other, and due to this unconventional arrangement, you can only see him once a week. But you love him so much you don't care. Then, one day, you find a note with the name Hannah on it. Unable to help yourself, you track her down, and, under false pretenses, strike up a friendship. When Hannah shows up to your coffee dates with bruises, you realize she's being abused by her husband--who, of course, is also your husband. But you've never known him to be violent. Who exactly is your husband, and how far would you go to find the truth? Would you risk your own life? And who is his mysterious third wife?

    Format: Large Print - 2020

    Holds: 0 on 3 copies

    View this item
  • Treason

    Treason

    Woods, Stuart

    "Upon returning to New York after a British excursion, Stone Barrington is notified of a delicate situation within the country's administration. A close friend requires his expertise and subtlety to eradicate a destructive presence in a classified agency--only it soon becomes clear that this renegade was sent by one of Stone's rivals. From the City of Light to the Maine coast, Stone must summon his wit and daring to catch the evasive traitor and halt the disclosure of confidential intelligence. This enemy may be equipped with unlimited resources and devious schemes, but if Stone remains vigilant, justice may finally prevail."--Back cover.

    Format: Large Print - 2020

    Holds: 0 on 4 copies

    View this item
  • The Country Guesthouse

    The Country Guesthouse

    Carr, Robyn

    After her best friend dies, Hannah Russell becomes the guardian of five-year-old Noah. Realizing they need time to get to know each other, Hannah rents a country house in rural Colorado. The home's handsome owner, Owen Abrams, promises to stay out of their way, but that plan is upended after Noah bonds with his dog. While Hannah learns to be a mother, Owen, who is also grieving, is drawn out of his solitude by his guests. But as life throws more challenges at this unlikely trio, they discover their strengths and fight to become a family. And the people of Sullivan's Crossing rally around them, offering all of their support.

    Format: Large Print - 2020

    Holds: 0 on 3 copies

    View this item
  • Good Girls Lie

    Good Girls Lie

    Ellison, J. T.

    "The Goode School in Marchburg, Virginia, is a prestigious prep school, whose elite status, traditions, and honor code are ideal for preparing exceptional young women for brilliant futures. But a stranger has come to Goode, and what is growing at this ivy-league school has turned poisonous. No one questions the cruelties of the secret societies or the dubious behavior of the privileged students as long as they pretend to follow the rules. But when a popular student is found dead, the truth cannot be ignored. Rumors suggest that a secret that drove her to suicide. But look closely... because there are truths and there are lies, and then there is everything that really happened"--Page 4 of cover.

    Format: Large Print - 2020

    Holds: 0 on 4 copies

    View this item
  • The Shape of Night: A Novel

    The Shape of Night: A Novel

    Gerritsen, Tess

    "A woman trying to outrun her past is drawn to a quiet coastal town in Maine--and to a string of unsolved murders--in this haunting tale of romantic suspense from New York Times bestselling author Tess Gerritsen"--Provided by publisher.

    Format: Large Print - 2020

    Holds: 0 on 2 copies

    View this item
  • The Book of Science and Antiquities: A Novel

    The Book of Science and Antiquities: A Novel

    Keneally, Thomas

    In a novel of breathtaking reach and inspired imagination, the Booker Prize-winning author of Schindler's Ark tells the stories of two men who have much in common. What separates them is 42,000 years. Shade lives with his second wife amid their clan on the shores of a bountiful lake. A peaceable man, he knows that when danger threatens, the Hero ancestors will call on him to kill, or sacrifice himself, to save his people. Over 40,000 years later, Shade's remains are unearthed near the now dry Lake Learned in New South Wales. The sensational discovery fascinates Shelby Apple, a documentary film maker who tracks the controversies it provokes about who the continent's first inhabitants were and where Shade's bones belong. Shelby goes on to follow his own heroes to the battlefields of Eritrea and the Rift Valley where Homo sapiens sprang from. When he, too, faces mortality and looks back on his passions, ideals and sorely tested marriage, Learned Man stands as an enduring spirit, a fellow player in the long, ever-evolving story of humankind.

    Format: Large Print - 2020

    Holds: 0 on 4 copies

    View this item
  • Scarlet Fever

    Scarlet Fever

    Brown, Rita Mae

    "Winter blizzards bring a flurry of cases to solve in this riveting foxhunting mystery featuring 'Sister' Jane Arnold and her incorrigible hounds"--Provided by publisher.

    Format: Large Print - 2020

    Holds: 0 on 2 copies

    View this item
  • Welcome to the Pine Away Motel and Cabins

    Welcome to the Pine Away Motel and Cabins

    Bivald, Katarina

    "The Pine Creek Motel has seen better days. Henny would call it charming, but she's always seen the best in things. Like now, when she's just met an untimely end crossing the road. She's not going to let a tiny thing like death stop her from living fully - not when her friends and family need her the most. After the funeral is over, her body is buried, and the last casserole dish is empty, Henny is still around. She's not sure why, but she realizes she has one last opportunity to help her friends discover the happiness they once knew before they lose the motel and cabins they've cherished for years."--Publisher description.

    Format: Large Print - 2020

    Holds: 0 on 4 copies

    View this item
  • The Poppy Wife: A Novel of the Great War

    The Poppy Wife: A Novel of the Great War

    Scott, Caroline

    "In the tradition of Jennifer Robson and Hazel Gaynor, this unforgettable debut novel is a sweeping tale of forbidden love, profound loss, and the startling truth of the broken families left behind in the wake of World War I. 1921. Survivors of the Great War are desperately trying to piece together the fragments of their broken lives. While many have been reunited with their loved ones, Edie's husband Francis has not come home. Francis is presumed to have been killed in action, but Edie believes he might still be alive. Harry, Francis's brother, was there the day Francis was wounded. He was certain it was a fatal wound--that he saw his brother die--but as time passes, Harry begins questioning his memory of what happened. Could Francis, like many soldiers, merely be lost and confused somewhere? Hired by grieving families, Harry returns to the Western Front to photograph gravesites. As he travels through battle-scarred France and Belgium gathering news for British wives and mothers, he searches for evidence of Francis. When Edie receives a mysterious photograph of Francis, she is more convinced than ever he might still be alive. And so, she embarks on a journey in the hope of finding some trace of her husband. Is he truly gone? And if he isn't, then why hasn't he come home? As Harry and Edie's paths converge, they get closer to the truth about Francis and, as they do, are faced with the life-changing impact of the answers they discover. Artful and incredibly moving, The Poppy Wife tells the unforgettable story of the soldiers lost amid the chaos and ruins, and those who were desperate to find them"-- (1/19/2020 10:23:22 AM)

    Format: Large Print - 2020

    Holds: 0 on 4 copies

    View this item