• Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You : A Remix of the National Book Award-winning Stamped From the Beginning

    Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You : A Remix of the National Book Award-winning Stamped From the Beginning

    Reynolds, Jason

    "The construct of race has always been used to gain and keep power, to create dynamics that separate and silence. Racist ideas are woven into the fabric of this country, and the first step to building an antiracist America is acknowledging America's racist past and present. This book takes you on that journey, showing how racist ideas started and were spread, and how they can be discredited"--Dust jacket flap.

    Format: Book - 2020

    Holds: 49 on 31 copies

    View Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You : A Remix of the National Book Award-winning Stamped From the Beginning
  • Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir

    Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir

    Ha, Robin

    "A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life--perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo. For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together. So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation--following her mother's announcement that she's getting married--Robin is devastated. Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn't understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn't fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to--her mother. Then one day Robin's mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined"--Amazon.com.

    Format: Graphic Novel - 2020

    Holds: 28 on 7 copies

    View Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir
  • Magic the Gathering Strategy and Deck Building Tips: A Complete Guide to Building A Magic Deck That Wins!

    Magic the Gathering Strategy and Deck Building Tips: A Complete Guide to Building A Magic Deck That Wins!

    Hockman, Stephen

    Inside you'll discover: how to craft the optimal size deck, how much mana you should really include in your deck to harness the best advantage, what a mana curve is and why it so important to winning the game, a proven card selection strategy that increases your odds of drawing a great hand, ways to construct a deck around key cards that can generate a win, tips on developing a winning strategy for any type of deck, how a deck theme can work to your advantage and help you dominate your opponent, a break down of what exactly makes up a good card with numerous examples of good cards versus bad cards, crucial game play tips you must consider if you want to win the game, and so much more!--from back cover.

    Format: Book - 2013

    Holds: 17 on 3 copies

    View Magic the Gathering Strategy and Deck Building Tips: A Complete Guide to Building A Magic Deck That Wins!
  • It's Trevor Noah: Born A Crime : Stories From A South African Childhood : Adapted for Young Readers

    It's Trevor Noah: Born A Crime : Stories From A South African Childhood : Adapted for Young Readers

    Noah, Trevor

    The comedian traces his coming of age during the twilight of apartheid in South Africa and the tumultuous days of freedom that followed, offering insight into the farcical aspects of the political and social systems of today's world.

    Format: Book - 2019

    Holds: 16 on 9 copies

    View It's Trevor Noah: Born A Crime : Stories From A South African Childhood : Adapted for Young Readers
  • Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art

    Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art

    McCloud, Scott

    "You must read this book." --Neil Gaiman The bestselling international classic on storytelling and visual communication. Praised throughout the cartoon industry by such luminaries as Art Spiegelman, Matt Groening, and Will Eisner, Scott McCloud's Understanding Comics is a seminal examination of comics art: its rich history, surprising technical components, and major cultural significance. Explore the secret world between the panels, through the lines, and within the hidden symbols of a powerful but misunderstood art form. (syndetics)

    Format: Book - 1993

    Holds: 15 on 3 copies

    View Understanding Comics: The Invisible Art
  • Dark Sky Rising: Reconstruction and the Dawn of Jim Crow

    Dark Sky Rising: Reconstruction and the Dawn of Jim Crow

    Gates, Henry Louis

    "This is a story about America during and after Reconstruction, one of history's most pivotal and misunderstood chapters. In a stirring account of emancipation, the struggle for citizenship and national reunion, and the advent of racial segregation, the renowned Harvard scholar delivers a book that is illuminating and timely. Real-life accounts drive the narrative, spanning the half century between the Civil War and Birth of a Nation. Here, you will come face-to-face with the people and events of Reconstruction's noble democratic experiment, its tragic undermining, and the drawing of a new "color line" in the long Jim Crow era that followed. In introducing young readers to them, and to the resiliency of the African American people at times of progress and betrayal, Professor Gates shares a history that remains vitally relevant today."--Provided by publisher.

    Format: Book - 2019

    Holds: 10 on 22 copies

    View Dark Sky Rising: Reconstruction and the Dawn of Jim Crow
  • Explorer's Guide to Wildemount

    Explorer's Guide to Wildemount

    Mercer, Matthew

    A war brews on a continent that has withstood more than its fair share of conflict. The Dwendalian Empire and the Kryn Dynasty are carving up the lands around them, and only the greatest heroes would dare stand between them. Somewhere in the far corners of this war-torn landscape are secrets that could end this conflict and usher in a new age of peace?or burn the world to a cinder. Create a band of heroes and embark on a journey across the continent of Wildemount, the setting for Campaign 2 of the hit Dungeons & Dragons series Critical Role. Within this book, you?ll find new character options, a heroic chronicle to help you craft your character?s backstory, four different starting adventures, and everything a Dungeon Master needs to breathe life into a Wildemount-based D&D campaign?-

    Format: Book - 2020

    Holds: 10 on 5 copies

    View Explorer's Guide to Wildemount
  • You Failed Us: Students of Color Talk Seattle Schools

    You Failed Us: Students of Color Talk Seattle Schools

    Savage, Azure

    An exploration of the experience that students of color have in the schools they attend around the Seattle area. It incorporates direct quotes from interviewed students, as well as the author's own personal experiences from when they were in elementary school, to now, about to enter their senior year of high school. Digging into these experiences allows us to find meaning, and understand the factors that create them. -- Publisher description.

    Format: Book - 2019

    Holds: 9 on 9 copies

    View You Failed Us: Students of Color Talk Seattle Schools
  • Volo's Guide to Monsters

    Volo's Guide to Monsters

    The esteemed loremaster Volothamp Geddarm is back! And never has his research been so dangerous-- he's compiled a dissertation on iconic monsters! Elminster doesn't believe Volo got some the details quite right-- but you'll discover the stories and lairs of giants, mind flayers, orcs, goblinoids, and much more. They're monsters-- but will they be your friends or your foes?

    Format: Book - 2016

    Holds: 8 on 6 copies

    View Volo's Guide to Monsters
  • This Book Is Anti-racist

    This Book Is Anti-racist

    Jewell, Tiffany

    "Learn about identities, true histories, and anti-racism work ... This book is written so young people will feel empowered to stand up to the adults in their lives. This book will give them the language and ability to understand racism and a drive to undo it"-- Cover. (8/13/2020 7:44:36 AM)

    Format: Book - 2020

    Holds: 8 on 12 copies

    View This Book Is Anti-racist