• The Moonday Letters

    The Moonday Letters

    Itäranta, Emmi

    An effortlessly rich and lyrical mystery wrapped in a love story that bends space, time, myth and science, perfect for fans of Octavia Butler and Emily St. John Mandel. Sol has disappeared. Their Earth-born wife Lumi sets out to find them but it is no simple feat: each clue uncovers another enigma. Their disappearance leads back to underground environmental groups and a web of mystery that spans the space between the planets themselves. Told through letters and extracts, the course of Lumi's journey takes her not only from the affluent colonies of Mars to the devastated remnants of Earth, but...

    Format: Book

    View The Moonday Letters
  • The Daughter of Doctor Moreau

    The Daughter of Doctor Moreau

    Moreno-Garcia, Silvia

    From the bestselling author of Mexican Gothic and Velvet Was the Night comes a dreamy reimagining of The Island of Doctor Moreau set against the backdrop of nineteenth-century Mexico. Carlota Moreau: A young woman growing up on a distant and luxuriant estate, safe from the conflict and strife of the Yucatán peninsula. The only daughter of a researcher who is either a genius or a madman. Montgomery Laughton: A melancholic overseer with a tragic past and a propensity for alcohol. An outcast who assists Dr. Moreau with his experiments, which are financed by the Lizaldes, owners of magnificent haciendas and...

    Format: Book

    View The Daughter of Doctor Moreau
  • Just Like Home

    Just Like Home

    Gailey, Sarah

    "Just Like Home is a darkly gothic thriller from nationally bestselling author Sarah Gailey, perfect for fans of Netflix's The Haunting of Hill House as well as HBO's true crime masterpiece I'll Be Gone in the Dark. "Come home." Vera's mother called and Vera obeyed. In spite of their long estrangement, in spite of the memories - she's come back to the home of a serial killer. Back to face the love she had for her father and the bodies he buried there, beneath the house he'd built for his family. Coming home is hard enough for Vera, and to...

    Format: Book

    View Just Like Home
  • Trouble With Lichen

    Trouble With Lichen

    Wyndham, John

    Francis Saxover and Diana Brackley, two biochemists investigating a rare lichen, separately discover that it has a remarkable property: It slows the aging process almost to a halt. Francis, realizing the horrifying implications of an ever-youthful wealthy elite, decides to keep his findings a secret. But the younger and more daring Diana sees an opportunity to overturn the male status quo and free women from the career-versus-children binary—in short, a chance to remake the world.

    Format: Book

    View Trouble With Lichen
  • The Icarus Plot

    The Icarus Plot

    Zahn, Timothy

    "There wasn't much money to be made as a Trailblazer, searching out new worlds for possible development. Still, it was safer than the bounty hunter career that had cost Gregory Roarke his left arm six years ago. And thanks to his Kadolian partner Selene's ultrasensitive sense of smell, they occasionally discovered a medically promising seed or spore they could sell under the table. It was a quiet life, uneventful and mostly legal. Until Roarke was approached by two men with a proposal: track down a mysterious woman named Tera and, through her, locate a secret project called Icarus. The challenge...

    Format: Book

    View The Icarus Plot
  • The Princess and the Scoundrel

    The Princess and the Scoundrel

    Revis, Beth

    Spending their honeymoon on a luxury vessel journeying to the most wondrous worlds in the galaxy, Han Solo and Princess Leia soon discover that the war is not over as the remnants of the Empire still cling to power, bringing the fight to them.

    Format: Book

    View The Princess and the Scoundrel
  • Terraform

    Terraform

    Merchant, Brian (EDT)/ Evans, Claire L. (EDT)

    "An anthology of near-future science fiction from VICE's acclaimed, innovative digital speculative story destination, Terraform--in print for the first time"--

    Format: Book

    View Terraform
  • Sultana's Dream and Padmarag

    Sultana's Dream and Padmarag

    Rokeẏā

    "One of the first science-fiction utopian stories and one of the first feminist utopias by India's widely celebrated, pioneering feminist, educator, writer, and activist Rokeya Hossain A Penguin Classics Edition Sultana, a Muslim woman living in contemporary India, falls asleep and wakes up in a transformed future world: a utopia in which men rather than women are relegated to the domestic sphere. Women, now free to explore the outside world at will and pursue an education, run a peaceful and just society, using scientific principles to harvest energy from the sun and live in harmony with nature. Sultana's Dream was...

    Format: Book

    View Sultana's Dream and Padmarag
  • Flying the Coop

    Flying the Coop

    Roy, Lucinda

    "Lucinda Roy continues the Dreambird Chronicles, her explosive first foray into speculative fiction, with Flying the Coop, the thought-provoking sequel to The Freedom Race. Dreams are promises your imagination makes to itself. In the Disunited States, no person of color--especially not a girl whose body reimagines flight--is safe. A quest for Freedom has brought former Muleseed Jellybean 'Ji-ji' Silapu to D.C., aka Dream City, the site of monuments and memorials--where, long ago, the most famous Dreamer of all time marched for the same cause. As Ji-ji struggles to come to terms with her shocking metamorphosis and her friends, Tiro and...

    Format: Book

    View Flying the Coop
  • A Prayer for the Crown-shy

    A Prayer for the Crown-shy

    Chambers, Becky

    "A Prayer for the Crown-Shy is a story of kindness and love from one of the foremost practitioners of hopeful SF. After touring the rural areas of Panga, Sibling Dex (a Tea Monk of some renown) and Mosscap (a robot sent on a quest to determine what humanity really needs) turn their attention to the villages and cities of the little moon they call home. They hope to find the answers they seek, while making new friends, learning new concepts, and experiencing the entropic nature of the universe. Becky Chambers's new series continues to ask: in a world where people...

    Format: Book

    View A Prayer for the Crown-shy