• Managing Expectations

    Managing Expectations

    Driver, Minnie

    "A charming, poignant, unfiltered, laugh-out-loud memoir in essays from beloved actor and natural-born storyteller Minnie Driver, chronicling the way life works out even when it doesn't"--

    Format: Book

    View Managing Expectations
  • Cooking Alla Giudia

    Cooking Alla Giudia

    Guetta, Benedetta Jasmine

    "From deep-fried artichokes (carciofi alla giudia) to hearty fish stew (zuppa di pesce), the Venetian specialty of sarde in saor (sweet-and-sour sardines), and orecchiette pasta, some of Italy's best-known dishes are Jewish in origin. But little is known about the Jewish people in Italy and their food traditions. From Milan to Rome and Florence to Sicily, the culture of Jews is entrenched in Italy. It was the Jews, for example, who taught Italians to eat eggplants, and thus helped inspire the classic eggplant parmigiana. Cooking alla Giudia is the ultimate tribute to the wonderfully rich, but still largely unknown, culinary...

    Format: Book

    View Cooking Alla Giudia
  • Abolition Geography

    Abolition Geography

    Gilmore, Ruth Wilson

    "The first collection of writings from one of the foremost contemporary critical thinkers on racism, geography and incarceration."--

    Format: Book

    View Abolition Geography
  • My Seven Black Fathers

    My Seven Black Fathers

    Jawando, Will

    "A memoir by the lawyer, activist, and county councilman Will Jawando"--

    Format: Book

    View My Seven Black Fathers
  • I Cried to Dream Again

    I Cried to Dream Again

    Kruzan, Sara

    "At once disturbing and empowering, the memoir of a courageous woman, who, between the ages of thirteen and sixteen, was manipulated, exploited, and abused as a sex worker; who killed her pimp/father figure-and was unjustly sentenced to life in prison without parole. "I was 11 when I met GG. I realized later that he had to have been aware of the chaos that was my life... because he played me perfectly. I was walking home after school... I heard his red Mustang purring like a huge lion behind me before it pulled up catty corner and cut off my path....

    Format: Book

    View I Cried to Dream Again
  • The Hidden Kingdom of Fungi

    The Hidden Kingdom of Fungi

    Seifert, Keith A.

    "For readers of Entangled Life and The Hidden Life of Trees comes an illuminating account of the "invisible" fungi that share our world: from the air we breathe to the dust beneath our feet. The Hidden Kingdom of Fungi traces the intricate connections between fungi and all life on Earth to show how these remarkable microbes enrich our lives: from releasing the carbon in plants for the benefit of all organisms to transmitting information between trees, to producing life-changing medicine, to adding umami flavor and B vitamins to our food. Divided into sections, each one exploring an environment where fungi...

    Format: Book

    View The Hidden Kingdom of Fungi
  • No Escape

    No Escape

    Turkel, Nury

    "A powerful memoir by Nury Turkel lays bare China's repression of the Uyghur people. Turkel is cofounder and board chair of the Uyghur Human Rights Project and a commissioner for the United States Commission on International Religious Freedom. In recent years, the People's Republic of China has rounded up as many as three million Uyghurs, placing them in what it calls "reeducation camps," facilities most of the world identifies as concentration camps. There, the genocide and enslavement of the Uyghur people are ongoing. The tactics employed are reminiscent of the Cultural Revolution, but the results are far more insidious because...

    Format: Book

    View No Escape
  • The Rugged Life

    The Rugged Life

    Emerson, Clint

    "You can live the Rugged Life completely off-the-grid by farming your own food and using the waste from your toilet for compost. Or, you can live it by adding solar panels to your suburban home and keeping chickens and bees in your backyard. You can even live the Rugged Life in a city by simply gathering the salad for tonight's dinner from your windowsill garden. Each of these homesteading and prepper long-term survival skills stand on their own, and taken together, they can help you design the independent life you want for yourself and your family."--Amazon.

    Format: Book

    View The Rugged Life
  • The Secret Power of Yoga

    The Secret Power of Yoga

    Devi, Nischala Joy

    The definitive feminine interpretation of Patanjali's Yoga Sutras, now expanded to include all four padas. Yoga is best known for its power to create a healthy body, but the emotional and spiritual benefits of the practice are even greater. In The Secret Power of Yoga, Nischala Joy Devi offers a simple, elegant, and deeply personal interpretation of Patanjali's Yoga Sutras--the principles at the basis of Yoga practice. Hers is a heart-centered, intuitive, feminine perspective, and the first translation intended for women. Her interpretation beautifully captures the spirit of each sutra, and her suggested practices offer numerous ways to embrace the...

    Format: Book

    View The Secret Power of Yoga
  • Scenes of New York City

    Scenes of New York City

    Scenes of New York City celebrates the promised gift of 130 works from the Elie and Sarah Hirschfeld Collection to the New-York Historical Society. The Hirschfeld promised gift is at once a collection of individual works by talented artists from the 19th and 20th centuries, a series of vivid "snapshots" of the iconic city, and a tapestry weaving a narrative of Gotham's vibrant history. These fascinating celebrations of New York City-paintings, watercolours, drawings, prints, and sculpture whose strength lies in the 20th century-include 113 works by 82 American and European artists not currently represented in the collection. They expand the...

    Format: Book

    View Scenes of New York City